ShighisoaraSighisoara has been founded in the second half of the XIIth century by Transylvanian Saxon colonists in the south-east of Transylvania, the centre of today’s Romania.

Eight and a half centuries later, Sighisoara’s historical centre has been enlisted in the World Heritage List, in 1999 in Rabat (Marocco), as a remarkable testimony of the Saxon culture from Transylvania, as Saxons have created and maintained the cultural traditions of the region until the fall of the Iron Curtain, when they started returning to their birth places.

Most Transylvanian medieval towns have expanded on flat ground, but Sighisoara’s adapting to the land’s specific configuration, divided the city into 2 separate parts still developing as a single unit-the Citadel and the Lower City-which offers the city an extraordinary artistic and historic value.

The unique value of the city’s historical centre is given by the special way of using its territory, Sighisoara being a remarkable example of a small fortified town in a region that marks the boundary between the Latin culture of Central Europe and the Byzantine-Orthodox culture of South-eastern Europe.

The Protected area, consisting of the Medieval Citadel and the Lower City, covers an area of ​​33.13 hectares, which includes over 150 historical monuments, to which is added an ensemble of fortifications, consisting of 9 towers, 2 bastions and the walls of the Citadel.

All through the Middle Ages, The Citadel was the administrative, judicial, cultural and spiritual center of the settlement, sheltering the townhall, the churches and the monasteries, the rectory and the officials’ residences.

Today ther are still exististing 9 of intial 14 fortification towers: The Clock Tower, the Blacksmith’s Tower, the Shoemaker’s Tower, The Tailor’s Tower, the Furrier’s Tower, the Butcher’s Bastion, the Ropemaker’s Tower, the Tinsmith’s Tower and the Tanner’s Tower.

The most important architectural monuments belong to the XIVth and XVth centuries, representative being the Church on the Hill, the Clock Tower and the Monastery Church.

The Unesco ensemble comprises 287 buildings (120 in the Citadel and 167 in the Lower City), from which 157 are historical monuments: 84 in the Citadel and 73 in the Lower City.